Picking up Daisy Miller, I was hoping it would be somewhat of an intrigue to me. I enjoy many of Jane Austen’s novels and so this book seemed like a perfect choice. Considering the fact that this novella is only 64 pages, I am  only able to discuss about the first 20 pages. The opening lines in chapter one grabbed my attention and from then on I was hooked, “At the little town of Vevey, in Switzerland, there is a particularly comfortable hotel. There are, indeed many hotels; for the environment of tourists is the business of the place, which, as many travellers will remember, is seated upon the edge of a remarkably blue lake--a lake that it behooves every tourist to visit” (James 3). Now, I became really interested because it was a book like Jane Austen’s only set in another country. 
     In the beginning, the character of Winterbourne is introduced. From the start, I really like Winterbourne’s character. He is just a good guy. He studies in Geneva, he has come home to see his aunt because she is sick and he treats ladies with the utmost respect. Right after Winterbourne is introduced, Daisy Miller comes into the picture. I am not fond of her as of now. As the book goes on, I may change my mind, but she does not come across right to me, “She was dressed in white muslin, with a hundred frills and flounces, and knots of pale-colored ribbon. She was bare-headed; but she balanced in her hand a large parasol, with a deep border of embroidery; and she was strikingly, admirably pretty” (James 6). She appears as a perfect angel, but in reality, she is very rude. She will not acknowledge Winterbourne. She keeps her nose up in the air and bosses around her little brother. First impressions are everything and already, I have a bad feeling about her. One character I am completely fond of is her little brother, Randolph. He is a little fireball with a lot of energy and he tells it like it is. 
     Chapter one is simply introductions, but at the end Winterbourne begins to woo Daisy. He has asked her to go to the Chateau de Chillon with him. Daisy mentioned the idea of going earlier, when they first met, and Winterbourne asked if he would be able to take Daisy, her brother and mother. Daisy says no, that it will not be necessary, because secretly she just wants her and Winterbourne to go. I already know that I do not like the idea of Winterbourne being associated with Daisy. She is a mystical creature to him. She is hypnotizing him and he is falling for it. Winterbourne’s aunt warns him against this and tells him that these people are just common people and he should not associate with them. It is not a good idea. It appears the Millers are trying to be something they are not. They act like they belong to the  high social class by dressing nicely and acting like they belong in the high society, but Winterbourne’s aunt knows different. I am excited to keep reading!


Jacob Kirschner
4/10/2012 04:00:12 am

What kind of name is Winterbourne? Also it seems typical that you would not like Daisy Miller right away. I've only read one other Jane Austen book, but that seems to be the trend that the main character is really not one that you could sympathize with, but I'm sure that will change by the end of the novel.

Reply
Evan Hampton
4/10/2012 04:02:33 am

I enjoyed your blog post on Daisy Miller. However, I don't think I would enjoy the book very much. I hated Jane Austen's Emma, so anything resembling Jane Austen sounds repulsive to me. I think it's funny how you described Daisy, and it seems to me that she is nothing more than a stuck up, prissy little brat. After reading Emma, I really could not care less about reading about a girl who thinks she is better than everyone else and who has the attitude of a rude little rich girl. I almost feel bad for you for having to read this, but hopefully the book turns out to be better by the time you finish.
I'm sure this is a wonderful book, but it would not be anywhere near the top of my "Want to read" list any time soon.

-Evan

Reply
Nick Kolettis
4/10/2012 05:14:37 am

This sounds like a typical Jane Austen book here at the beginning as something that seems so unbearable will eventually end happy for the reader. I like how you were able to see right through Daisy's description and find out who she really is. By the way, I am also questioning why someone has the name Winterbourne.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    March 2012

    Categories

    All