This my second time  reading the Great Gatsby and I am once again reminded how much I love this book. I was completely immersed from Chapter One. Since I began I have barely put it down since--except to eat, sleep and do other homework. Like calculus. Well, that is beside the point. The Great Gatsby is told from the point of view of Nick Carraway. When the point of view is told from another character, the reader is generally unsure of the credibility of the speaker. We are reading the story through his eyes and can only imagine in our own minds what he is portraying for us. However, at the end of Chapter Three Nick states, "Everyone suspects himself of at least one of the cardinal virtues, and this is mine: I am one of the few honest people that I have ever known" (60). Thus validating his honesty, we can give Nick ethos, or in other words trust that he is a credible speaker.
    Now that we have that established, I can move on to other characters from the book. Opening up with Nick going to visit Daisy and Tom Buchanan, Daisy being his second cousin twice removed. Immediately, I find this ambiance about Daisy--and I don't really like it. She is ditzy in a sense. She seems to lie around all day and do nothing. I am not sure if I can stand much more of her. And her husband I don't like as well. Man, everyone is going to think book is horrible with all of my complaining of the characters, but don't worry it is not! Truthfully it is one of the best books I have ever read. Anyway, Tom is a pompous man, concerned with wealth, outer appearance, and social status. He is extremely judgmental, "Have you read The Rise of the Colored Empires by this man Goddard? Well, it's a fine book and everybody ought to read it. The idea is if we don't look out the white race will be--will be utterly submerged. It's all scientific stuff; it's been proved" (13). Now, can I say pompous again? Anyway, this statement early on in the novel allowed me to judge Tom and in not the best way.
    We also meet Jordan Baker. Apparently she is a phenomenal golfer, who frequently competes. She comes off as rude and snobby but once you keep reading I hope you find out that you enjoy her because I truly do. She does not gossip or judge, she keeps to herself and tells it like it is.
8/2/2022 04:25:18 am

Kurumsal ya da bireysel Tiktok hesabınız için güvenli paketlerimizi inceleyebilirsiniz. Hesabınıza dakikalar içerisinde yüklenecek paketler sayesinde hesabınız çok kısa bir süre içerisinde büyüyecek.

Reply



Leave a Reply.